jump to navigation

Bonsai Chronicles- Hornbeam June 7, 2006

Posted by 30minutemeandering in Bonsai, Pictures.
trackback

Hornbeam-

I have had this tree for 3 years and the main focus in this tree at the moment is exposing the roots which i started last year and almost killed the tree in the process (to much to soon). All the growth you see in leaves comes from praying lol. I will not be doing anything more with this tree until at least next year just to give it a chance to fully recover.

The Roots-

There is still a long way to go with this but they show promise and although some have had to be cut out there are still others to discover.

Comments»

1. Elf - June 8, 2006

Like the berberis it’s a good shape. Not that I know anything about bonsai. you’ll have to enlighten us on things such as how long they are trained and what that entails.

What kind of tree is this one it looks like a mini version of the beech hedge in my neighbours garden.

BTW a local nursery to me sells bonsai. It’s only a couple of hours down the A1 from you.

2. 30minutemeandering - June 8, 2006

I shall be writing more on my bonsai and adding more pictures, as for garden centre bonsai your lucky if you can get a decent one. i do buy stock from garden centres but just normal tree stock then work on them myself.

3. The Fat Lady Sings - June 9, 2006

Beautiful bonsai! You do such nice work – I especially like this hornbeam. It has great character. Wonderful site. I do love the art of bonsai!

4. *pixie* - June 9, 2006

Beautiful. I love seeing trees with exposed roots. With the juniper, I’m assuming you had to wire it. If so, how long?

5. jane - June 9, 2006

This is a very cool pic

6. 30minutemeandering - June 9, 2006

Thanks for the responses, all the pics are taken by my fantastic wife, as for wiring trees i really don’t do it that often i try to just trim the branches following the lines that i want to continue, it definatly takes longer than wiring but patience is a virtue.

7. Bonsai chronicles update- Hornbeam « 30 Minute Meandering - April 16, 2007

[…] It’s all about getting the canopy shape.  A whole lot better than last year. […]


Leave a comment